Skip to content

Instagram enables users to share reels and posts with ‘Close Friends’ Only

Zeeshan Saleem Updated 2 min read 0 comments

Instagram enables users to share reels and posts with ‘Close Friends’ Only

People
in the Close Friends list can see likes and comments on post and reels.
   

Instagram enables users to share reels and posts with 'Close Friends' only

Image: Instagram

In this article

Instagram extends the close friends feature for posts and
reels. On Tuesday, a Meta-owned social media platform announced this feature
for the general public. Previously, in September, beta users saw the first
glimpse of this update, but now been rolled out for everyone. X (formally known
as Twitter) also introduced the ‘ Circle ‘ feature same as Close Friends 一 but
now discontinued. Instagram continues to bring expansion for her ‘Close
Friends’ update.

This new feature lets users share the audience for their
feed to ‘Close Friends’ only. You can see the ‘green star’ next to the account
that added you in her reels or posts. This exciting update pays way to those
users who hesitate from posting feeds due to ultimate implicit social media
pressure. “We know our community already uses Close Friends as a pressure-free
space to connect with the people that matter most,” Instagram said.

Instagram first rolled out the Close Friends feature back in
2018 for stories 一 able to send stories to a small number of users specified
by the user. Later on, for ‘notes’ also. Now, The social media platform extends
this feature to reels and posts. “Sharing with your Close Friends is now
expanding to Feed and Reels. More types of posts with the same smaller
group”, Mark Zuckerberg CEO of Meta said through his Instagram channel.

To share posts and reels for close friends only, during the
creation of a post you’ll need to navigate to Audience, then go to Close Friends
> Done. Now your post will be visible to only your specified people in close
friends. Notable, Other Peoples added to your ‘Close Friends’ list will also be
able to see likes and comment on post and reels
. 

How to share posts and reels for 'Close Friends' only in Instagram

Image: Instagram 

Beside this,
Instagram also working on turning off read receipts messages for DMs. That will
allow users to see messages without showing the ‘seen’ label under the message
in DMs. Meta Verified feed is also an important coming in a few months that
allow the user to see only feed of verified users 一 a new way of advertising
business accounts.

Zeeshan Saleem

Senior technology writer and reviewer at TechBird.

Leave a Reply

Community Policy: Keep discussions constructive, on-topic, and respectful. Spam or personal attacks will be removed by moderators.

1FacebookXWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInPinterestEmail